And you talked about movies

Rare are the people in the film business who could talk about another movie with such honesty and sincerity. You did it with my mother’s movie. You were afraid I could not hear some of your observations because I could be subjective trying to defend it. You said you liked the movie for its singularity and audacity. And also for its spirit and the poetic sensitivity one can feel through the movie. But you found it too heterogeneous because it offered too many elements with complicated access for a normal spectator.

You said that the question of reality in a movie is crucial. We all want to twist this reality as a filmmaker and the more we distant the movie from its reality, the bigger the difficulty to watch it will be for an average spectator.

You did not believe we could dissociate the intellect from the human sensitivity and/or the feelings we can have while seeing a movie and the ones we have in real life, what moves us is always related to our ideas, our memories and personal experiences. Memories and experiences that we bring along with us while watching a movie with new stories and unknown characters. It was a trip we made together, spectators and filmmakers.

You said you had felt such richness in the world and in the movie of my mother. You hoped she will have more occasions to express it and to transmit it in a stronger, more direct and maybe simpler way.

You made me think about writing. Writers and readers are partners. They meet somewhere in the process of creativity and reading. Writers put their heart and soul into the piece they had written. Readers acknowledge the sharing and read it with their own past and experiences. And somewhere in their personal memories and lives they realize they are united with the authors through some pages and some chapters. It is the beauty of writing and reading. When I read a book, some stories just go straight to my heart. I can’t help but say to myself: “It was exactly like that”. I am carried away by the power of the words. The same thing happens with movies, just as you said after having seen my mom’s movie. How many times I have wished I had made that powerful movie or had written that stunning novel? A hundred of times. Because it expresses exactly what I feel and I have found myself in it so deeply.

You analyzed my mother’s movie with objectivity and affection due to our friendship. This was also what we shared, among other things.

Her second movie is on the way. I wish we could see it together. And discuss it together. Like in old times.

2 thoughts on “And you talked about movies

Leave a comment